For Authors: School Visits are a Good Opportunity to Embrace Your Odd

iStockgirlarcher17760878

I was shocked to read Shannon Hale’s post about her experiences during school visits, where sometimes only girls are expected to attend, because Shannon writes what are labeled “girl” books. Here’s her post if you haven’t read it: http://shannonhale.tumblr.com/post/112152808785/no-boys-allowed-school-visits-as-a-woman-writer

I don’t have that problem, because apparently I write “boy” books. I get a different sort of reaction during school visits, but more about that later. I didn’t realize there was such a thing as “boy” and “girl” books when I started writing. My first book felt like it should be written from the POV of a twelve-year-old boy, so that’s what I did. It didn’t occur to me as it would be considered an odd choice by some. I wrote my second book from a boy’s POV too. I’ve discovered that for whatever reason, I liked telling some of my stories that way.

I know I don’t look the part of an author who writes adventure stories featuring boys. I sometimes get very surprised reactions during school and Skype visits when I tell the students about myself: how much of a Lord of the Rings geek I am, how I love science fiction and adventure movies, and how sometimes I would rather be outside instead of writing. Apparently, these are boy characteristics in our society, not middle-aged suburban mom characteristics. (Yes, I am a suburban middle-aged mom, not one of the Kool Kidz, but wow, do I click with teachers and librarians, something that seems to escape some marketing considerations.)

After the surprise though, I can see some students out in the audience who light up and become more engaged in my talks. I suspect it’s those who have been feeling like they don’t fit in, for whatever reason. Schools can be hard places for odd kids. Though I loved school, there were some who considered me strange. It didn’t bother me, because I came from a family where quirkyness was normal. (My father was the perfect stereotype of an eccentric inventor.) I know many children find their oddness a burden though. They don’t realize their quirks may be their greatest strength later in life. I know I never would have become a writer without mine.

I’d encourage other authors to let kids know about your own quirks. Don’t try to fit the mold of “successful children’s author who writes _______(fill in the blank)” Show them you aren’t a stereotype. Tell them if you were an odd kid. They’ll find it interesting. Your reader don’t care if you fit a mold or not. I’ve decided that if by sharing things about myself, I can help just one kid to feel a little better about themselves, that’s a good day. My new motto is “Odd is Good.”

This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For Authors: School Visits are a Good Opportunity to Embrace Your Odd

  1. Tiefsa says:

    Odd is good, indeed. I’m a middle school teacher, and the kids love the stories I tell them about my experiences as a middle school kid, and the strange things I like now. (They find it amusing that I like Minecraft).

Leave a Reply

