Skeet Shooting at Camp David over the years.

President Kennedy Skeet Shooting at Camp David

President Kennedy Skeet Shooting at Camp David

Researching Camp David to write WILDFIRE RUN was so fascinating that I’m always happy now to go back and have an excuse to focus on a specific part of the place. With the release of the photograph of President Obama skeet shooting at Camp David, I wanted to bring together some bits of history. I’ve never been skeet shooting myself, but I used to go with my dad while he and his friends did. I had forgotten about it until President Obama’s made the news.

There aren’t many photos of Presidents on the skeet range at Camp David, but I think this one of President Kennedy above is fascinating. He looks far more casual than we see him in most photos, especially with his shirt untucked. Jackie Kennedy came to Camp David for the horsebacking riding with her children, but since President Kennedy had a bad back and didn’t ride, skeet shooting was one activity he could enjoy.

Prince Charles

Prince Charles

I haven’t been able to find any photos of them at Camp David, but when Prince Charles and his sister, Princess Anne, visited the U.S. in 1970, they were taken there for “an evening of bicycing, skeet shooting, and swimming followed by hamburgers and steaks on the Aspen terrace followed by banana splits for dessert,” according to W. Dale Nelson, who wrote about the history of the place in THE PRESIDENT IS AT CAMP DAVID.

I’ve seen several photographs of Prince Charles hunting in Britain, so I assume he’s a good shot, but probably not as good as the Egyptian and Israeli security forces who accompanied Prime Minister Anwar Sadat and  to Camp David when they were meeting with President Jimmy Carter to discuss a Middle East peace accord. Carter’s former press secretary, Jody Powell, said that he remembers shooting skeet with them, but he made no mention of how everyone did in comparison to those highly trained military men.

camp-david-skeeteisenhower

President Eisenhower also enjoyed shooting skeet there, and was reportedly quite good at it. I haven’t yet been able to find any photos of other presidents at the range, but I assume many have taken advantage of it, especially those who were hunters. I’m going to keep looking for references and will add if I find any.

If you know a reader in the 8 to 13 year old age range who likes adventure, you can find out more about WILDFIRE RUN, set at Camp David, by going to my website:  http://deegarretson.com

This entry was posted in Camp David, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.