Volunteering too much? Is this you?

I just had to post this because it struck me as the funniest thing I’ve read recently. For all of you who routinely volunteer to chaperone field trips to garbage recycling centers (dumps), bake cupcakes for two hundred, read first drafts of 200,000 word epics, or deflea stray cats at a shelter, this is for you:

My friend Claudia Reilly posted this on Facebook in response to a discussion of how it is too easy to volunteer to do things you really don’t want to do.:

“What I find especially interesting is that the further in the future the terrible volunteer activity is, the more inclined I am to say “Yes! Sign me up!” If someone rang me up and said, “Would you mind being a human sacrifice in 2018? It’s for a worthy cause!” I’d say, “Oh sure. Should I bring a pot luck dish along? Will you be setting me on fire? Shooting me out of a canon? How should I dress for it? Festive casual?”

For those of you who don’t know Claudia, you should. Her slice-of-life Facebook posts show a true writer’s keen observation for the quirkiness of everyday life.

Anybody else do this?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Volunteering too much? Is this you?

  1. Ha! Why can’t we just say no?

  2. Jessica says:

    volunteer-a-holic? Heh.

  3. Kat Kitts says:

    I volunteered to pull garlic mustard this Saturday morning. And I have a ruptured L5 disk and right knee with no cartilage in between the bone. Please light me on fire!

  4. Jayne says:

    Hello! Found you via Hilary’s lovely blog. 🙂

    I also get sucked into volunteering for things I don’t want to do – usually when they are particulary miserable and will cost me money. I usually find myself unhappily saying yes and wondering how on earth I will get out of it!

    And congratulations on your upcoming book release! The cover looks really good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

