A Book Cover!!

I have a book cover to share, and I couldn’t be happier with how it turned out. This is very close to my original image I have had in my mind ever since I began to think about a cover.

I’m afraid I don’t have any insights into how the cover design people begin to approach this, but the cover artist did try to match some aspects of the characters’ appearance even though their images are mostly in silhouette. I know it’s hard to tell from this small picture, but the main character, Luke, is in the middle, and he’s a relatively average kid, even if he is the President’s son. His friend Callie is on the left, and I can’t tell if the artist tried to get in the red cowboy boots the girl wears all the time or not. It’s hard to see her legs. The other kid is Luke’s friend Theo, and he’s on the right, tall and kind of awkward with hair that’s usually out of control. I was looking for all these aspects in the cover because I’ve lived with these characters so long, it’s almost like they’ve taken up residence in my brain.

I did actually edit one word in the manuscript so it would fit the cover, just because I like consistency. In the book, it’s August and I have Luke wearing shorts, but since he’s wearing jeans on the cover, I decided to change it in the story. Small details I obsess over….

This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Book Cover!!

  1. Jeanne says:

    Wow! How very cool!

    I have a shiver now–it seems so real!

Leave a Reply

