Shiny Book Jacket Copy

I’ve learned many things in the past few months about publishing. One of the things I didn’t know was that writers usually don’t write the back cover copy or the inside jacket flap copy for their books. I’ve discovered a good reason for this-having another person write it leads to some great ideas. I’m so pleased with how this turned out:

Jacket Flap Copy:
The presidential retreat, Camp David, is one of the safest places in the United States. So why can’t the President’s son, Luke, and his friend Theo stay there without Secret Service agents constantly hovering over them, watching their every move? But what should be a fun summer for Luke, Theo, and Luke’s once-friend Callie suddenly turns deadly when an earthquake sets off a raging wildfire, causing a chain reaction that wrecks havoc on Camp David’s security—and everyone’s safety.
Now, Luke needs a plan
To override the security systems
To save those who were supposed to save him
To get through an impassable gate
To escape Camp David

Back cover copy (this is going to look like an official memo):

TOP SECRET/CONFIDENTIAL
Subject Luke Brockett
Status: Son of President Brockett
Agents Assigned: Adam Martens and Isabelle Keller
Location: Camp David presidential retreat, Maryland
Coordinates: 39°38’54N 77°27’55”W
Mission Statement: To protect the President’s son as he vacations with his friends Theo Ellias and Callie Lansa from physical harm, terrorist threat, and their own curiosity. Subject is highly intelligent, but prone to endangering himself…

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shiny Book Jacket Copy

  1. bigwords88 says:

    I like the Secret Service memo idea. Did you get any say in the content of the inside jacket flap copy?

    • Dee Garretson says:

      Thanks! The publisher sent both to me for approval, and I suggested a few words should be changed in the inside flap copy. It is actually fairly close to the original query I used when I was trying to find an agent. I think queries that read like blurbs work well for certain genres.

  2. marissaburt says:

    Wow! Both sound fantastic. You must be thrilled.

  3. deegarretson says:

    Thanks! I was sent both for approval, and suggested a few word changes in the inside flap copy. It is actually somewhat close to my original query I used when I was trying to find an agent. I think queries that read like blurbs can work well for certain genres.

  4. Jeanne says:

    Earthquake! I knew you’d changed some things since I read it — that’s a good one. Can’t wait to see the finished product and get my copy signed!!!!

    (Sorry I haven’t been around — NaNoWriMo is kicking my butt.)

Leave a Reply

